Blog 4

Section One (so far!):

I am feeling really good about Section One of my website.  I really love my layout!  I feel like I finally have a really strong foundation, which has taken me a long time to achieve.  I totally scrapped my initial plan for Section One, in fact, I get humor out of looking at my initial plan, in comparison to where my website is at now!  However, I think it was good I planned out how I was going to present my site because I quickly learned what worked and what didn’t work for me.  First of all, I was really excited to use a nature theme, but when I began putting the pieces together on Dreamweaver, I realized I wasn’t satisfied with things. I felt like my theme wasn’t going to be complimentary of the subject I was going to present, so I changed everything. 

I think the hardest part for me was choosing a theme, but once I did, everything else fell into place. However, the most important part of this project so far has been time. Although the Dreamweaver manual has helped in areas when I am completely stumped, many of the things I love about my layout has been learned through trial and error.  For example, I really like to use borders because it’s a great way to accentuate things that are important, but it took me a lot of trial and error to before I was satisfied with the results.  (Perhaps this is an area I need to work on. . . I tend to be a little too picky about things! Eh Hannah? 😉 I love to construct things, and I am really enjoying this new medium because it requires a whole new “creativity” out of me, and not surprisingly, I am very conscious of my work).

What I think is a very fun part of this project is the opportunity to create our ideal website.  Certainly, I do not know an extensive amount about Dreamweaver, and there will still be things I will not know at the end of the semester, but with the manual (and good old time), I have good sources.  What I like about a website, I can incorporate. What I hate about a website, I can avoid.  We really have a blank slate at our fingertips to play with, and create into an awesome project. I am excited because it is beginning to come together nicely.

One response to this post.

  1. Hi Jill,

    I really like your design and your overall theme. Your color scheme and font seems very complementary and appropriate to what you are attempting to accomplish. My first impression (from the home site on) is that it is professional, well labeled, and I know my options. I immediately know what your website is going to be about before I even enter.

    After clicking on section one, all of the above sill applies, but here are some things I did notice you are missing:

    – Your site is entitled “untitled document,” you can change this in dreamweaver under the “title” text box above every html site tab. If you have frames, you will have to title every different frame.

    – I don’t know who created your website or where I can contact you.

    – It would be nice to access your blog. Not necessary, but I would like it.

    I am sure you are going to change a lot more. Nice work. Looks really good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

